Homemade Baby Wipes

Happy Wednesday everyone!! I am so happy that you are reading this awesome post! So, you all heard about the whole Huggies Wipes issue right? I mean who hasn’t but in case you are like, “What the heck is this lady talking about???”, I will fill you in!

I was perusing Facebook one evening before bed as I usually do and I came across a post about how a woman found something in her wipes! I watched the video and she found what she thought might be shards of glass or fiber glass. Anyways, I pulled out my Huggies wipes to inspect them and there were the sparkly crystals that she showed, I also noticed the texture was really rough. Tatum has also had a weird rash on his bottom lately and I have no idea where it came from, but I think it ties back to the wipes we have been using. Anyways, I really don’t know if it is glass or fiberglass, or what and I don’t know that that is what has caused his butt rash. What I do know is that it has chemicals in it that I don’t want going on my baby’s body. I make him organic baby food so that he is not being exposed to pesticides and chemicals in food, so why am I using these chemicals that I have no idea how they work or react on his body? So I decided that I will make my baby’s wipes so that I know what is going into them and so that I have control!

So I set out to Pinterest to find out how!! So the basic thing I have found in common with all of the different recipes is 1 cup of water to 1 Tablespoon of a moisturizer and 1 Tablespoon of soap! It is so much easier than I thought it would be and it took like 10 minutes to make! Plus I know what is going into his wipes!

So here is what you will need:

  • 1 roll of paper towels (I use Viva brand because they are so soft, like cloth but a lot of people like Bounty)
  • 1 Tablespoon of Baby Wash (I used his Johnson’s Lavender Baby Wash, but I will opt for something all natural next time)
  • 1 Tablespoon Organic Coconut Oil (or you can use baby lotion)
  • 1 Cup of Hot water (so that the coconut oil will melt)
  • A container to store them in (a coffee can works great)

How to make them:

  1. Cut the roll of paper towels in half. Use a super sharp knife. I used serrated knife and it created a huge mess plus it made the wipes jagged on one side.
  2. Remove the cardboard tube out of the middle of each half.
  3. Mix the coconut oil and baby wash into the hut water. It is 1T Coconut Oil, 1T Baby Wash, 1 Cup Hot water per half.
  4. Pour half the mixture in the bottom of your storage container. Put one half of the roll of paper towels in the container and pour the rest of the mixture over the top of it. Let them sit for a few hours so that the mixture can disperse evenly!

So easy right? And I know what is going onto his body! Did you also know that coconut oil helps with diaper rash? Double duty in his wipes (no pun intended)!! WOW!!

DISCLAIMER: I am only going off of what I saw in the video and what I had seen and noticed with my own eyes. I am not looking for negative attention or looking to sue Huggies or any other brand for that matter. This is my opinion about the wipes and it has not been proven what exactly is wrong with the wipes. This video just brought something to my attention about most brands of disposable wipes and I am no longer using Huggies wipes because I don’t know what the weird rough, shiny bits are and they can’t really explain them either.

Do you like what you read?? Comment, share, and SUBSCRIBE!!

CSM Logo

