Tatum’s Birth Story

Hey everyone! Sorry I have not posted in FOREVER! I am now the busy mom of a 7 year old and a 4 month old! I am going to tell you all about Tatum’s birth so be prepared for some TMI!

So, in July of 2014, I found out I was going to have another baby! I know this should have been an exciting time, but I was a hysterical mess. I was on birth control and we didn’t think we were ready for another kid! I was freaking out for weeks! When I finally accepted the fact that I was going to be a new mommy for the 1st time in 7 years, I was actually kind of excited!

On September 13th, I thought it was going to be just like any other day. We woke up and my back was hurting really bad and I just felt off. We went to the Farmer’s Market and ran a few other errands. It was really hard for me to walk even though I was only 12 weeks along. It was just really unusual. As soon as we got home from our errands, I felt a big gush run down my legs. I ran to the bathroom and was pouring blood. Hubby rushed me to the ER and I just knew I was miscarrying. This baby I had just started to become attached to and love was gone. I was a mess. When we got to the ER, they admitted me immediately and got an ultrasound machine in there. There was a heartbeat and the baby was moving a lot! My little miracle baby was alive. It turns out I had a subchorionic hemorrhage which is where the placenta tries to detach from the uterus. They usually resolve on their own!

I bled for 7 weeks and did not understand how I could bleed for that long while my baby was continuing to grow and do well. On October 30th, we had our gender ultrasound and they were going to make sure that my hemorrhage resolved. We took Izzy with us to confirm that she was getting a sister just like she asked for. We all wanted another girl. We picked out the name Annabelle Lee if it was a girl and Tatum Michael for the slim chance that it was a boy. As soon as the ultrasound began, the technician announced, “Congratulations! It’s a boy!”. WHAT?? A boy? No, it has to be a girl. Are you sure?? What are we going to do with a boy? I know it seems selfish to be upset about getting a boy, but I got over it once I started looking up cute boy stuff on Pinterest!

Everything went fine the rest of my pregnancy until about 31 weeks. I started throwing up. Like not keeping water or anything down and having contractions that were about 20 minutes apart. I went to the doctor after 3 days of suffering. They told me that I was in early labor and I was dilated to a 1 1/2 and 50% effaced. Plus his head was super low. She once again put me on bedrest for a week. She wanted me to at least get to 32 weeks and she began to see me every week. I was not progressing fast, so they told me to go back to normal activity and to call them if my contractions get any closer together. The next week, my contractions got to 10 minutes apart and stayed like that for 3 weeks with lots of progression. I was miserable and just wanted it to be over.

10978656_10204482819725228_2198739507313230422_n-CSM

The last week of my pregnancy, my contractions were 5 minutes apart and I was dilated to 4 and 100% effaced and stayed like that the entire week. I was in the hospital every night begging for some kind of relief. Wishing that someone would put me out of my misery. They doctor said that if I did not have him by my due date on March 22, 2015, they would induce me on the 24th. I tried walking, pineapple, chocolate, raspberry leaf tea, EVERYTHING. Nothing worked. The 22nd came and went and so did the 23rd so on the 24th we trudged down to the hospital to be induced.

On March 24th, we woke up at 5:00am so that I could eat breakfast and drink a cup of coffee. I was so tired, but really excited and ready to get labor going. At 6:00am, we arrived at the Hospital and settled into our birthing suite. I was so nervous about labor because I knew what to expect. At 6:30am they hooked me up to monitors and started an IV and had to watch me for an hour before they could start the induction. I was still having those lovely 5 minute contractions. Ughhh. Anyways, at 7:50am they started my pitocin drip and broke my water. Here we go, no turning back now. The contractions started picking up and it hurt worse than I remembered. With Izzy, labor was only 2 hours so the doctor ordered my epidural 1st thing when they broke my water. At about 9:30am when I was dilated to a 6, I got my pain relieving epidural. For a split second, I didn’t know what hurt worse, the epidural needle or the contractions. Then the meds kicked in and I felt NOTHING. For the 1st time in 5 weeks, I got real sleep. It was amazing and at that point, I didn’t care if labor lasted all day!

Then, I felt a weird pressure so I called my nurse in and she checked me. She said that I was complete and it was time to have a baby. She made the call and nurses started pouring into my room with excited faces. Then came my doctor who brought in a big mirror (at my request) so that I could watch my son make his debut into this world! I had my hubby and my parents in the room with me! A contraction came and my doctor instructed me to push. I pushed through 4 or 5 contractions as my family and nurses cheered me on! I started to get tired and questioned if I could really do this. I saw his head crown and got excited to see the rest of my baby. Another contraction came and I delivered his head. He had so much hair. The final contraction came that delivered his body and there he was. Tatum Michael was born at 11:21am. He was 7 lbs 2 oz and 21 inches long and he was perfect. He was more beautiful than I could have ever imagined. They cleaned him off and gave him to me for an hour of skin on skin bonding. They let the rest of my family come in. Izzy came running in, jumped on my bed and said “Momma, I love him! He is perfect! I want to hold him!” She got to hold him after our skin on skin and even got to hold him before his daddy. He is now 4 months old and is still such a joy in our lives. I could not have had a better experience, even though it was a bit crazy.

11053620_10203994743533366_1081694628923719178_n-CSM 10360691_10204016367393949_1974800472284003160_n-CSM 11079369_10204039177084177_6963323026062351597_n-CSM 11091172_10203995264906400_8871609303906519865_n-CSM

Like what you read? Subscribe and share with your friends!!!

CSM Logo

