Baby Talk: My Hospital Packing List

Wow! I only have 6 weeks or less until my little Tatum gets here! I am nervous, excited, and miserable all at the same time! I just can’t believe how fast my pregnancy has flown by! We had our baby shower this weekend and it was an amazing way to welcome our little cowboy! We got some amazing gifts and had a fun time with family and friends!

Anyways, to keep my mind busy while carrying around a huge child who is putting some serious strain on my back and knees, I have been working on packing the hospital bags this week. I have also been working on getting stuff together for Izzy’s Big Sister Bag! She is so excited to get a baby brother and can’t wait to meet him!

It has been 7 years since I have had a little baby in the house or had to prepare for one, so it is almost like I am a brand new mom again. I can still remember a few things, like the fact that the hospital gives you tons of stuff for the baby while you are there and to never forget the bobby pillow (or your own pillow).

Here is what is going in each bag!!

Mommy’s Bag

  • Hospital Gown- I am thinking about getting my own hospital gown made because I am wanting the birth photographed!
  • 1 Nursing Gown
  • 2 pair of comfy clothes for daytime- I am buying a couple of pairs of Victoria’s Secret sweats (they are baggy and wonderful) and VS t-shirts (since they are pretty low cut to make for easy feedings). Comfort and looseness is key after having a baby!
  • 2 nursing bras- Izzy used to throw up right in my bra after feedings as a newborn, so I am coming prepared!
  • 3 Pair of socks- hospitals are cold, bring comfy socks!
  • House Shoes
  • Robe
  • Pillow and blanket- They never provide enough blankets in the rooms and I would rather sleep on my cloud pillow than a flattened out pillow.
  • Chapstick
  • Shampoo
  • Conditioner
  • Bodywash
  • Deodorant
  • Toothbrush
  • Toothpaste
  • Face Wash
  • Moisturizer
  • Make Up- you may or may not feel like putting some on, but I am bringing just some CC Cream, blush, and mascara so that I can look a little more human!
  • Going Home Outfit for Mom- I am just going to use the comfy VS outfits! If they are dirty, it won’t really matter since I am going straight from the hospital to the house!
  • Postpartum Girdle- Look them up and you will be in love! They help you heal faster, and get skinnier again! WOOHOO!!
  • Granny Panties- The hospital usually gives you a few pair. I would probably just go to walmart and buy a few pairs as well. Make sure they are cheap since you don’t want to ruin any good panties!
  • Lotion- I just bring baby lotion so that you can kill 2 birds with one stone!
  • Hair Ties
  • Boppy Pillow
  • Camera & charger or batteries
  • Cell Phone & charger (for both you a hubby)
  • Laptop or tablet and charger- you are going to get bored! Trust me- when the baby is asleep and all your guests are gone, you will think you are going to die of boredom, so you wake the baby up and it screams for 2 hours non-stop and you really wish you would have let the baby sleep. Bring it so this scenario does not happen!
  • Chewing gum
  • Nursing Pads
  • Germ Ex
  • Birth Plan
  • Flat Iron- just in case you decide you want to fix up a little!
  • Blow Dryer- No one likes running around with wet hair.
  • Contact lens supplies

Baby’s Bag

  • 2-3 Onesies and sleepers
  • Going Home Outfit
  • Blankets
  • Picture taking outfit- our hospital takes really good pictures, take advantage of it!
  • 2-3 hats
  • 3-5 socks- you will only make it home with 1 pair, trust me.
  • 3-5 mitts- once again, you take in 5 pair and 1 pair comes home with you.
  • Nook pacifier- Izzy hated the soothies one and would spit is across the room. Bring a variety because most hospitals only carry one kind!
  • Baby wash- I like to bring my own just for the heck of it!
  • Special toy- Izzy was given a little pink bear by a good friend and 7 years later still has that sweet little bear (even though it is more of a brownish tan color than pink now). We will have a special toy for Tatum to grow up with also!

Daddy’s Bag

  • 1-2 pair of Pajamas
  • 2-3 pair of underwear
  • 2-3 pair of socks
  • 2-3 changes of clothes
  • toothbrush
  • toothpaste
  • deodorant
  • razor
  • house shoes
  • pillow
  • snacks- just because you can’t eat doesn’t mean he doesn’t need to. Someone has to have some energy for the grand finale!

Sibling Overnight Bag

Izzy will be staying with her Mamaw and Papaw, but she will still need clothes and stuff!

  • 2-3 Pair of Clothes
  • 2-3 pair of socks
  • 2-3 pair of underwear
  • 1-2 pair of pajamas
  • house shoes
  • robe
  • GoodNights (one for each night)
  • Books
  • toothbrush
  • toothpaste
  • hair brush
  • hair bows
  • hair tie

Big Sis/ Big Bro Bag

Of course she is going to want to spend time with us at the hospital, so we are making her a special big sister bag filled with lots of goodies!!

  • Big Sister T-Shirt
  • Pacifier- to help with Tatum
  • A few toys- for her to play with
  • A baby toy- to help play with baby boy
  • Snacks
  • A Capri Sun
  • Coloring book and crayons

Did you like what you read? Subscribe, comment, and tell your friends all about the Chic Southern Mommy!

Logo-1

