ROAD TRIP… or dance trip, I should say

So sorry I have not posted on here in a while! I am a dance teacher, studio owner, have a full time job, and I am a dance mommy, so I have been quite busy this past week. Wow! We have two road trips coming up within the next two weeks. We are going to my Grandma’s house for the hubby and her birthday (they were both born on March 31st) plus, I am planning a trip with a group of 50 for a dance performance! I must be out of my mind! I am so excited for all the traveling to begin. Pictures will be posted soon of each trip, but first, I am going to give you some sanity saving travel tips!

  1. Dress Comfortably. It seems super simple, but it can really change your mood. Dressing comfortably doesn’t mean you have to look like crap though. I usually wear leggings and a comfy shirt, do my hair, and put on some natural looking make up. I look and feel good, plus I can easily nap!
  2. Play games!! I remember road trips with my parents and brother used to be fun when we would play games like the ABC Sign game or the 50 states license plate game! My daughter is quite partial to her tablet and the portable DVD player. Just make sure you keep everyone entertained!
  3. Stop, and smell the roses! Or the truck stop. Either way, just take a break from all the driving. I bring special “gifts” for my daughter to play with on the road just when we stop. We like to bring bubbles, bouncy balls, hoola hoops, jump ropes, and any other fun activity. This also helps your child with the “I’m hungry even though we just stopped 15 minutes ago for lunch” tantrum. She is not hungry, she is bored.
  4. Sing songs. Singing can be really fun! Turn on the radio and have a “who can sing it better” competition! It is fun and can creating some… uh… interesting memories of Daddy singing like Lady GaGa.
  5. Bring snacks. You won’t have to stop every time someone gets hungry. We usually bring jars of peanut butter and jelly and a loaf of bread. We also bring sodas and bottles of water and keep them in an ice chest in the car. Stop maybe once every hour to rest and stretch.
  6. Come prepared. Along with snacks, you might find it handy to have these items in your car as well:
  • Wet Wipes
  • Tissues
  • Paper Towels
  • First Aid Kit
  • Bug Spray
  • Sun Screen
  • Books to read 
